Skip to content

Within,

24-4-2008
Daleth

25 I lie in the dust;
revive me by your word.
26 I told you my plans, and you answered.
Now teach me your decrees.
27 Help me understand the meaning of your commandments,
and I will meditate on your wonderful deeds.
28 I weep with sorrow;
encourage me by your word.
29 Keep me from lying to myself;
give me the privilege of knowing your instructions.
30 I have chosen to be faithful;
I have determined to live by your regulations.
31 I cling to your laws.
Lord, don’t let me be put to shame!
32 I will pursue your commands,
for you expand my understanding.
Psalm 119:25-32

This section has often been a source of comfort to me, a portion of scripture that I continually return to, especially whenever I am engaging in self-examination.  Jeremiah rightly says that, “The human heart is the most deceitful of all things, and desperately wicked.  Who really knows how bad it is?”(Jer 17:9)  Even when I think I’m right, I must examine myself and my motives because if the human heart is the most deceitful of all things, then I very well could be deceiving myself without even realizing it.  That is a scary thought, especially if I desire so much to follow after Christ.

The psalmist when writing this psalm sounds so emotional, he literally begs God to “Keep me from lying to myself; give me the privilege of knowing your instructions.” It is a plea for restoration and a request to access a privilege.  What a combination, to think that we mere mortals even cross God’s radar screen, yet we do and He loves us very much.

How do we combat deception within ourselves without being deceived?  “But I, the Lord, search all hearts and examine secret motives.  I give all people their due rewards, according to what their actions deserve.” Jeremiah 17:10  When we seek after God and ask for His guidance and deliverance, we shouldn’t only ask for the world beyond our immediate selves, but for guidance and deliverance from ourselves as well.  It is then we can be assured that God will act because He is faithful and true and will always “create in us a clean heart and give to us a right spirit.”  He will do this because He delights in us, He loves us and wants us to be with Him for eternity.  Isn’t that simply amazing?

Today’s note in my study bible says this:

Note on verses 27, 28

Our lives are cluttered with rule books, but the authors never come with us to help us follow the rules.  But God does.  That is the uniqueness of our Bible.  God not only provides the rules and guidelines but comes with us personally each day to strengthen us so that we can live according to those rules.  All we must do is invite him and respond to his direction.

I am still desiring and requesting God to “create in me a clean heart and renew a right spirit within me.”  I yearn for this so much and so deeply, it is nearly a tangible thing for me.  I know that God will do this for me and much more.  I know this because faith, like I said is active.  I have chosen to be faithful; I have determined to live by your regulations. (v.30 above)  I may not feel like doing right, making those hard, right choices in life, but I will make them, not because it “feels good” but because of what I know that I believe.  Relying on faith, my faith will always win out.  Does that make sense?

Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  Point out anything in me that offends you, and lead me along the path of everlasting life. Psalm 139:23-24

May God provide the increase.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

